PricingHome food businessDubaiSelling online

Pricing cakes and food from a home business in the UAE

Work out what to charge for cakes and food from a home business in the UAE using real ingredient prices, packaging, your time, commission and margin.

11 min read

What does an 8-inch cake cost you to make in the UAE?

Start with a real shopping list. This worked example is a classic 8-inch vanilla layer cake with buttercream, priced on 23 August 2026. Swap in your own quantities. The method is the same for any food business run from home, cakes or not.

  • Flour, 300g. Al Baker plain flour is AED 7.50 per kg at Spinneys, so AED 2.25.
  • Sugar, 300g. SIS fine grain white sugar is AED 6.50 per kg at Spinneys, so AED 1.95.
  • Butter, 400g for the sponge and the buttercream. Lurpak unsalted is AED 27.00 per 500g at Cake Craft UAE, so AED 21.60.
  • Eggs, 5. A 30-egg tray costs AED 24.25 to AED 27.50 at Spinneys, about AED 0.81 to AED 0.92 each, so AED 4.60 at the higher figure.
  • Icing sugar, 400g. A 1.5kg bag is AED 11.00 at Cake Craft UAE, so AED 2.93.
  • Vanilla paste, 10g. PROVA paste is AED 200.00 per 500g at Cake Craft UAE, about AED 0.40 per gram, so AED 4.00.
  • Milk, 150ml. Numbeo's crowd-sourced Dubai figure is AED 6.65 per litre as at 23 August 2026, so AED 1.00.

Total ingredients: about AED 38, before small items such as salt and raising agent.

Butter is more than half the ingredient cost, so where you buy it matters: at Spinneys a 400g Lurpak block is AED 31.00, which works out at AED 38.75 per 500g, against AED 27.00 per 500g at Cake Craft UAE. Real vanilla is the other expensive line; supermarket vanilla powder (Foster Clark's, 15g for AED 7.00) is far cheaper, but it is a different product.

If you bake often, foodservice packs change the maths. Philadelphia cream cheese is about AED 73 to AED 82 per kg in retail tubs at Spinneys, but about AED 41 per kg in a 1.65kg professional pack at Cake Craft UAE (AED 67.75). Cocoa is AED 150 to AED 260 per kg at the supermarket, against about AED 34 to AED 40 per kg for bulk alkalised cocoa from the baking supplier. Cake Craft UAE prices are shown VAT-inclusive.

How do you turn ingredient cost into a selling price?

Restaurants use a food-cost percentage: ingredient cost divided by menu price. The healthy range is 28% to 35% (Toast), 28% to 32% (Restaurant365) or 25% to 40% per dish (TouchBistro); the sources disagree on the edges, so treat 30% as the midpoint. AED 38 divided by 0.30 gives AED 127, a floor, not a price. A restaurant's labour is a separate 25% to 35% of revenue (Toast). You are the labour, so cost your time or it vanishes.

1. Ingredients

AED 38 from the list above.

2. Packaging

An 8-inch clear cake box (21.5 x 21.5 x 16cm) is AED 5.75 at Cake Craft UAE, an 8-inch silver board is AED 0.95, and a metre of satin ribbon from a 36-yard roll (AED 20.00) is about AED 0.60. Packaging: AED 7.30. A thicker drum board costs more, so price the exact board you use. No UAE price for printed logo labels could be verified, so add what you actually pay.

3. Delivery

Decide who pays, and never call it free; an unpriced courier trip can eat the whole margin of an AED 195 cake. On KLU the buyer pays the delivery fee at checkout, so it is not hidden inside your cake price (see the FAQ). If you book a courier yourself, it is a line in your costing. Quiqup publishes no per-order rates, and most UAE last-mile couriers quote per job; Careem Box publishes no rate card and charges delivery separately from the item cost, so get real quotes first. See how delivery works for UAE home businesses.

4. Your time

Pick an hourly rate you would accept for work; no UAE benchmark for a home business owner's time was found. For the example, say AED 40 an hour and 2.5 hours. Count every hour: mixing, baking, cooling, icing and boxing, but also shopping, washing up and messaging the customer. Hours you do not count are free. Time: AED 100.

5. Overhead

Oven electricity, water, cling film, the share of your phone plan used for orders. No UAE per-bake overhead figure was found, so use a small allowance and review it. Example: AED 5.

6. Commission and card fees

On KLU the commission is 5% of a completed order, plus 2% card processing when the buyer pays by card. Both come off the sale price, so apply them last; the figures are published in the FAQ.

Putting it together

Cost so far: AED 38 + AED 7.30 + AED 100 + AED 5 = AED 150.30. Add a profit margin on top of your wage; a business that only pays a wage cannot absorb a burnt batch. At 20%, AED 180. Now gross up for commission: AED 180 divided by 0.93 (after the 5% commission and 2% card fee) is AED 193.50. Round to AED 195.

At AED 195, ingredients are about 20% of the price and your time about 51%. An ingredient share below the restaurant range is normal when one person is the labour. Then check the market.

What do whole cakes sell for in Dubai and the UAE right now?

Prices were read from public storefronts on 23 August 2026. Some sellers price by diameter, some by weight, and most small businesses list one whole-cake price with no size. As a rough working equivalence, a 1kg cake is about an 8-inch single tier. Portion counts are each bakery's own, and they disagree: the same 8-inch cake is sold as 8 to 10 portions by one and 12 by another.

SizeServes (bakery's own guide)Market range found
8-inch8 to 10AED 190
Whole cake, size not statednot statedAED 140 to AED 180
10-inch15 to 20AED 290
500gby weightAED 99 to AED 119
1kgby weightAED 118 to AED 150 plain, premium lines to AED 189; AED 157.50 to AED 189 themed
2kgby weightAED 236 to AED 315 plain, themed to AED 378
Custom fondant or sculptedvariesAED 495 to AED 18,500

Cakes priced by weight scale linearly: a 2kg cake is twice the 1kg price at the chains that publish both. Sellers on KLU list whole cakes at AED 170 to AED 220 in Dubai and whole cheesecakes at AED 170 to AED 180 in Abu Dhabi. Our costed AED 195 sits inside the Dubai range for an 8-inch cake: a defensible number first, then the market confirms it.

Which pricing mistakes cost home businesses the most?

Pricing from Instagram comparisons. Another business's price tells you nothing about their butter, their hours or their profit.

Underpricing custom work. A fondant figure, hand-piped lettering or a tiered cake takes several times the hours of a plain cake, and the market charges for it: Dubai retail runs from about AED 495 for a custom fondant cake up to AED 18,500 for a sculpted one, and a themed cake carries roughly a 5 to 25 per cent premium over the same bakery's plain line. Charge for the hours and for the skill.

Buying retail when you bake weekly. Butter, cream cheese, cocoa and cream are where the supplier gap is widest. A litre of whipping cream is about AED 33 in a supermarket and about AED 23 from a baking supplier, a third off the same item.

Treating your wage as the profit. Keep a margin so the business can replace a tin, absorb a price rise or give a refund.

When should a home business raise its prices?

  • When ingredient costs move. Re-run the list above every three months.
  • When you are fully booked. Turning orders away means the price is too low.
  • When you add services: custom toppers, allergen-free versions, rush orders. Each is a separate line.

Raise prices on new orders only, and tell regulars a week or two ahead.

Do you need to charge VAT on the cakes you sell?

UAE VAT is 5% and food is standard-rated, not zero-rated (Ministry of Finance). You only have to register once your taxable supplies pass AED 375,000 in the previous 12 months or the next 30 days (Federal Tax Authority). Voluntary registration opens at AED 187,500. Below the mandatory threshold you are not required to register; only VAT-registered businesses may charge VAT, so check the current rule on tax.gov.ae. Receipts from UAE suppliers include 5% VAT, and input tax can be recovered only where a VAT-registered person incurs it on business expenses relating to a taxable supply (see the Ministry of Finance), so if you are not registered, cost from the receipt.

Licensing is separate from tax and is your responsibility as the seller; rules differ by emirate, so check the current rule with your emirate's licensing authority. See home business licence in the UAE and selling food from home in Dubai.

Frequently asked questions

How much should I charge for a 6-inch cake in Dubai?

Cost it the same way. A 6-inch uses fewer ingredients but almost the same hours, so it should not be half the 8-inch price. No 6-inch retail price could be verified on 23 August 2026, so price yours from your own costs.

Is AED 150 too cheap for an 8-inch cake?

With about AED 38 of ingredients and AED 7 of packaging, AED 150 leaves roughly AED 105 before commission for your time, overhead and profit. Plain cakes at Dubai retail bakeries start around AED 140 on sale (AED 180 at regular price), so AED 150 is the bottom of the market. It is too cheap only if your hours are not paid.

How much commission does KLU take?

KLU charges 5% commission on completed orders, plus 2% card processing when the buyer pays by card. There are no listing, subscription or setup fees, and payouts go to your UAE bank account weekly. Gross up your price as in the example above, and see the FAQ.

Should I include delivery in my cake price?

No. Keep it separate so buyers who collect do not subsidise delivery. On KLU the buyer pays the delivery fee at checkout, so the two are never mixed together. If you book couriers yourself, get real quotes; Quiqup publishes no per-order rates and most UAE last-mile couriers quote per job.

How do I price custom or fondant cakes?

Price the hours first; decoration time is usually the largest cost. Add materials (fondant, toppers, boards) at what you paid, then your margin. Dubai retail runs from about AED 495 for a custom fondant cake up to AED 18,500 for a sculpted one.

Sources

Last verified: 23 August 2026.

Everything your home business needs, in one place

Getting licensed is step one. Then you need somewhere to actually sell. KLU is the UAE marketplace built for home businesses, and it carries the parts you would otherwise stitch together yourself:

  • Your own storefrontA link you share anywhere, with your menu, photos and prices. No website to build.
  • Orders, not messagesEvery order arrives with the items, the time and the address. No counting direct messages at midnight.
  • Payments handledCard and cash on delivery, with weekly payouts straight to your UAE bank account.
  • Delivery arrangedKLU books the courier and the customer pays the fee at checkout. Pickup is always there too.
A home business storefront on KLU
A home business storefront on KLU
A home business taking orders on KLU
A home business taking orders on KLU

Free to join. No listing fee, no subscription, no setup fee. 5% on completed orders, plus 2% card processing when a customer pays by card.

Related guides