Home business licenceSharjahHome food businessSelling online

Home business licence in Sharjah for expats (2026)

Can an expat get a home business licence in Sharjah? Who Eitimad is for, SEDD's e-commerce licence, free zone options, published prices and the food rules.

12 min read

Can an expat get the Eitimad licence in Sharjah?

No, and every official source, old and new, says so.

The current SEDD FAQ in Arabic lists the conditions for the home licence, and the first one is that the applicant is a UAE national and resident in the Emirate of Sharjah: "أن يكون المتقدم مواطنًا إماراتيًا ومقيمًا في إمارة الشارقة" (SEDD FAQ, Arabic). Living in Sharjah is not enough on its own. The same list also requires membership of Ruwad, Sharjah's entrepreneurship foundation.

The English FAQ is just as plain. It calls Eitimad "a license specifically for UAE nationals willing to run their business from home", and when it sorts people into licences it writes "For home-based businesses (citizens): Eitimad license. For online sales: E-commerce license." (SEDD FAQ, English).

SEDD once answered the expat question directly. Its Eitimad portal's FAQ asked whether Eitimad may be issued to expatriates (الوافدين). The answer: Eitimad is for UAE nationals living in Sharjah. The next entry asked about GCC nationals, and the answer was "لا، غير مسموح", no, not permitted (Eitimad FAQ, archived 9 June 2022). That portal did not load when we checked on 22 September 2026.

The federal portal said the same: "The licence is restricted to UAE nationals residing in the emirate of Sharjah" (u.ae, archived 30 May 2025). That page now returns a 404.

If you are a UAE national, the full Eitimad walkthrough is in /blog/home-business-licence-sharjah.

What is SEDD's e-commerce licence, and can a resident expat get it?

This is the one official Sharjah mainland route to a no-premises licence for expats. SEDD describes the e-commerce licence as a "License for online sales and social media platforms" with "No physical location required (virtual), lower fees, suitable for entrepreneurs. Available to citizens and residents." (SEDD FAQ, English). The Arabic page says the same: "متاحة للمواطنين والمقيمين" (SEDD FAQ, Arabic). There is no nationality qualifier on "residents" here, unlike Eitimad.

An ordinary licence will not work from home. SEDD's FAQ answers: "No, a standard business license requires a physical business location", and for home-based activity lists only a licence for citizens, which the Arabic answer names as Eitimad, or the e-commerce licence (SEDD FAQ, English; SEDD FAQ, Arabic).

A few things SEDD does not tell you, and which you should settle before paying:

  • The fee. The FAQ gives no price for the e-commerce licence; it says fees vary by licence type and activity. Use SEDD's fee calculator or call SEDD on 80080000.
  • The legal form. SEDD says that since 2021 "foreigners have been able to own 100% of most businesses without a local partner", apart from activities reserved for citizens (SEDD FAQ, English). The same FAQ still describes a sole proprietorship as owned by "a citizen/Gulf national" and a "Service Agent" structure for foreign nationals. It does not say which one an expat's e-commerce licence uses. Some consultancy websites claim an expat needs a 51% local partner; that contradicts SEDD's own line, so ask SEDD.
  • Federal approval. Every e-commerce licence in the UAE also needs approval from the Telecommunications and Digital Government Regulatory Authority (TDRA), and u.ae links SEDD's "Issue licence" service for Sharjah (u.ae eCommerce).
  • Residency if you are not yet resident. SEDD says a non-resident can obtain a licence, but "an investor residency permit will be required after issuance", and some nationalities may need prior security clearance (SEDD FAQ, English).

One date to know. In June 2026 SEDD announced a 50% discount on issuance and renewal fees for "micro-licenses (e-commerce and Eitimad domestic licenses)" and an exemption from late payment penalties, for three months from 16 June (WAM, 21 June 2026, archived). By our count that ended around 16 September 2026, and we found no extension. Ask SEDD whether any relief is still running.

For where to sell once you are licensed, see /blog/where-to-sell-online-uae.

Can a free zone licence let you run a business from home in Sharjah?

The free zones disagree with each other.

  • SAIF Zone is the clearest: its licence "is valid for operating your business only inside the free zone territory" (SAIF Zone FAQ). It also says you can sell into the local UAE market subject to customs duties, and it sets minimum capital for an FZE or FZC at AED 150,000.
  • Shams (Sharjah Media City) says your company address "will be Sharjah Media City", not your home, and answers "Yes" to invoicing clients anywhere in the UAE (Shams FAQ).
  • u.ae says free zone companies may operate "within the free zone and internationally", and that selling directly on the mainland may need a local distributor or other approvals (u.ae eCommerce).
  • SPC Free Zone answers "Yes" to the question "Can I operate a small business or home-based business with an SPC Free Zone license?", but the answer only explains that small businesses need a licence (SPC Free Zone FAQ). It never says you may operate from a flat or villa, and it concedes restrictions on trading directly on the mainland.

So a free zone licence gives you an entity with an address in the zone. None of these authorities publishes terms saying you may run the business from your home address in Sharjah, and SAIF says the opposite. If running it from home is the point, ask the free zone in writing, and ask SEDD whether you need mainland approval.

On freelancing, a 2020 Shams blog post says you "need a residence visa and a freelance license/work permit" (Shams blog, 7 October 2020). We found no current freelance permit with published terms at Shams, SPC, SAIF or SRTIP; ask the zone.

Can an expat sell food made at home in Sharjah?

Not through any route a Sharjah authority has published.

Sharjah City Municipality's Food Control Section manual sets out a home food approval procedure for one licence only: Eitimad. The steps are a SEDD form, an inspection booked with the Food Control Section, initial approval, a trade name, occupational health cards, a food safety training course, final approval, then the SEDD licence (Sharjah City Municipality food manual, 2021). No e-commerce, free zone or freelance route for home food appears anywhere in it.

The same manual's physical rules for Eitimad food production are strict. The room where food is prepared must be on the ground floor, at least 15 m², with its own door separate from the main entrance of the villa or traditional house, at least one double sink and, if you make desserts, a separate fridge for them, and inspectors must be able to enter at any time. Large quantity contracts are not allowed without suitable space and tools. Our reading, not the municipality's words: a flat is unlikely to meet these, even for a UAE national.

The only free zone food route in the manual is a "local marketing certificate" for industrial food establishments in Sharjah free zones that want to sell in UAE markets. That is a licensed factory, not a home.

In 2018 the municipality warned against unlicensed home food businesses selling on social media, and said its Food Control Section approves food Eitimad licences after checking the home (Al Bayan, 17 September 2018).

The gap, plainly: SEDD's e-commerce licence is open to residents and SEDD mentions no food restriction on it. SEDD also says food activities on a general trading licence need the competent authority's approval and premises (SEDD FAQ, Arabic). Neither SEDD nor the municipality says whether an e-commerce licence holder may prepare food at home. Until one of them does, ask both: SEDD on 80080000 and Sharjah City Municipality's Food Control Section. Outside Sharjah City (Khorfakkan, Kalba, Dibba Al Hisn), ask SEDD which municipality handles food.

For crafts, perfume or design work sold online, the e-commerce licence is the route SEDD points residents to; confirm your exact activity with SEDD first.

What does each route cost?

Prices as published by each authority on 22 September 2026. Free zone prices are promotional, change often and mostly exclude visas.

RouteWho can applyFrom home?Food?Published priceSource
Eitimad (SEDD)UAE nationals living in Sharjah onlyYesYes, with municipality approvalAED 1,200 to issue, AED 1,000 a year to renew (2022 archive; confirm with SEDD)Eitimad FAQ, 2022
E-commerce licence (SEDD)Citizens and residentsNo premises required (virtual)Not stated; ask SEDD and the municipalityNot published; use SEDD's fee calculatorSEDD FAQ
Standard SEDD licenceCitizens and non-nationalsNo, premises requiredOnly with the competent authority's approval13% of lease value for non-nationals, minimum AED 1,300, plus other feesSEDD licence issuance
Shams media licenceCreatives, freelancers, media businessesAddress is Sharjah Media CityNot stated; licence covers media, production and digital activitiesFrom AED 5,760Shams
SPC Free ZoneNot stated on the pageNot stated in its termsNot statedFrom AED 5,750, 1 year, 0 visasSPC pay as you go
SRTIP SPARKUp to 1 shareholderLicence includes a lease and co-working accessNot statedFrom AED 3,999, limited-time offerSRTIP
SAIF ZoneFZE or FZC companiesNo, inside the zone onlyNot statedFZE or FZC minimum capital AED 150,000SAIF Zone FAQ

SEDD's FAQ estimates AED 15,000 to 30,000 for the first year of a premises-based licence, covering licence fees calculated on the rent, registration, printing and technical evaluation (SEDD FAQ, English). Its service fees include AED 250 for a trade name, AED 100 for e-services and AED 150 for technical evaluation (SEDD FAQ, Arabic). A visa through SPC adds an investor visa with Emirates ID (AED 2,530), visa allocation (AED 1,600), an establishment card (AED 640) and e-channel registration (AED 2,280) (SPC pay as you go). SRTIP's package with a visa, SPARK STARTER, is AED 10,990 (SRTIP).

What about Ruwad discounts? SEDD advertises fee waivers on licences under the Ruwad umbrella, but when asked whether non-citizens can take part in Ruwad programmes its answer names only UAE nationals, and Ruwad loans are for UAE nationals only (SEDD FAQ, Arabic). Do not count on a Ruwad discount as an expat; ask SEDD.

What happens if you sell without a licence?

SEDD's FAQ says working without a valid licence is a serious violation that can bring "hefty fines, closure of the establishment, and legal problems", without giving amounts (SEDD FAQ, English). Late renewal costs from AED 200 a month, rising to AED 5,000 or more. For the rules in the other emirates, start with /blog/home-business-licence-uae.

Selling on KLU

Licensing is your own responsibility, between you, SEDD and the municipality or free zone. KLU is a UAE marketplace for home businesses: free to join, with no listing, subscription or setup fees. You pay 5% commission on completed orders plus 2% card processing, and payouts go weekly to a UAE bank account. Every seller gets a storefront link to share; buyers order on iOS, Android or the web and choose pickup or delivery, with the buyer paying the delivery fee. Onboarding is in English and Arabic.

Frequently asked questions

Can a GCC national get Eitimad in Sharjah?

No. SEDD's archived Eitimad FAQ answered "no, not permitted" to GCC nationals (Eitimad FAQ, archived 9 June 2022), and the current FAQ requires a UAE national living in Sharjah.

I am married to a UAE national. Can the licence be in my name?

The published condition is about the applicant, who must be a UAE national living in Sharjah (SEDD FAQ, Arabic). SEDD publishes nothing on spouses of nationals, so ask SEDD on 80080000.

Does the e-commerce licence cover food?

SEDD does not say, and the municipality's published home food procedure covers Eitimad only. Ask SEDD and Sharjah City Municipality's Food Control Section before you sell any food.

Can I use a Dubai or Ajman home licence instead?

Probably not. Dubai's Intelaq is for UAE and GCC nationals living in Dubai (Dubai SME, archived 22 February 2024), and Ajman's Reyada home licence is for UAE citizens living in Ajman (Ajman DED, Reyada Program). The other emirates are covered in /blog/home-business-licence-uae. If you live in Sharjah and hold a licence from another emirate, ask the issuing authority and SEDD whether you may operate from your Sharjah address.

Is a freelance permit the same as a home business licence?

No. A free zone permit or licence covers the activities that zone lists, and Shams, for one, gives your address as the zone itself (Shams FAQ). None of the Sharjah free zones we checked publishes terms for making and selling food at a home address.

For questions about selling on KLU, see /faq.

Sources

Last verified: 22 September 2026.

Everything your home business needs, in one place

Getting licensed is step one. Then you need somewhere to actually sell. KLU is the UAE marketplace built for home businesses, and it carries the parts you would otherwise stitch together yourself:

  • Your own storefrontA link you share anywhere, with your menu, photos and prices. No website to build.
  • Orders, not messagesEvery order arrives with the items, the time and the address. No counting direct messages at midnight.
  • Payments handledCard and cash on delivery, with weekly payouts straight to your UAE bank account.
  • Delivery arrangedKLU books the courier and the customer pays the fee at checkout. Pickup is always there too.
A home business storefront on KLU
A home business storefront on KLU
A home business taking orders on KLU
A home business taking orders on KLU

Free to join. No listing fee, no subscription, no setup fee. 5% on completed orders, plus 2% card processing when a customer pays by card.

Related guides